Jul 19, 2008

Ribbon Awareness

I stumbled upon this page and it finally hit me how weird and ridiculous this movement has become. "Ribbon Awareness" seemed plausible when it was yellow ribbons for the missing or red ribbons for AIDS. Now things have gotten completely out of hand.

This info can be found at the link above. If you manage to read through them all, you will probably be quite surprised (and possibly as amused as I was) to find out what color is associated with what disease. A particular favorite is the red and yellow for hepatitis C - presumably red for blood and yellow for jaundice. Another is the green and orange ribbon, just for being so very obscure in what it represents.

Black Ribbon
The black ribbon is to show your support for melanoma cancer patients and Sleep Disorders.

Blue Ribbon
Blue ribbons are associated with ARDS, Osteogenesis Imperfecta, Colon Cancer and Arthritis.

Burgundy Ribbon
Burgundy ribbons are for myeloma, hospice care, Sepsis, APS (Antiphospholipid Antibody Syndrome), FVL, Thrombophilia, headaches and to support the Permanently Disabled.

CDH Ribbon
Support Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia (CDH) patients.

Gold Ribbon
The Gold ribbons are for childhood cancer and COPD.

Gray Ribbon
Gray ribbons are for asthma and brain tumors.

Green Ribbon
Green awareness ribbons support organ & tissue donors, Neurofibromatosis, Kidney Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Bipolar and Tourette syndrome.

Green-Orange Ribbon
The green-orange ribbon is for Ritual Abuse and Dual Diagnosis. It's a special tribute to our friend Jim. You are all welcome to wear the ribbon and support the dual diagnosed.

Lavender Ribbon
Lavender awareness ribbons are associated with cancer and epilepsy.

Light Blue Ribbon
Light blue is the ribbon to support prostate cancer.

Lime Green Ribbon
Lime Awareness Ribbon to support Lyme Disease and Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy patients.

Orange Ribbon
The orange ribbon stands for leukemia, RSD/CRPS, hunger, and addiction recovery.

Pale Yellow Ribbon
Spina bifida awareness is symbolized by pale yellow ribbons.

Pearl Ribbon
Pearl ribbons are for lung cancer, mesothelioma and multiple sclerosis.

Periwinkle Ribbon
Periwinkle Ribbon is a symbol of eating disorders and pulmonary hypertension.

Pink Ribbon
A pink ribbon is to show your support for breast cancer patients.

Purple Ribbon
Purple ribbons are worn to show support for Alzheimer's disease, Fibromyalgia, Chronic and Intractable Pain, ADHD, Lupus and cystic fibrosis.

Puzzle Ribbon
Wear the Puzzle Ribbon to support those 'living with' autism.

Red Ribbon
Red ribbons are associated with AIDS and HIV, heart disease and substance abuse.

Silver Ribbon
Parkinson's disease and mental illnesses are represented by silver ribbons.

Teal Ribbon
Teal ribbon represents substance abuse, Myasthenia Gravis and Panic Attacks.

White Ribbon
White ribbons support diabetes and retinoblastoma.

Yellow Red Ribbon
Hepatitis C Virus.

Yellow Ribbon
Yellow ribbons represent bladder and testicular cancer , liver disease, hydrocephalus, suicide prevention, down syndrome and hope.

Hey - "Purple ribbons are worn to show support for Alzheimer's disease, Fibromyalgia, Chronic and Intractable Pain, ADHD, Lupus and cystic fibrosis." OK - I've changed my mind - ribbons are the COOLEST! Marilyn and I get to wear the same ribbon (Lupus and ADHD) - into our old age and feeble mindedness! OH YEAH!

No comments: